Complete List of U.S. & Canada Holidays

If you’re looking for special holiday sales and deals, you need to know about all the holidays! Everyone knows when Christmas Day and Easter Sunday occur, but what about Earth Day or Stepfamily Day? Given today’s “challenging” economy, stores, restaurants, and shopping malls will use any holiday they can find to hold special sales, promotions, and events. This includes the minor, lesser-known holidays. Here’s a complete list of 2017-2018 holidays which are celebrated in the United States and Canada:

Thursday, March 23, 2017 – National Puppy Day
Monday, March 27, 2017 – Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day (Hawaii)
Thursday, March 30, 2017 – National Doctors’ Day
Saturday, April 1, 2017 – April Fools’ Day
Sunday, April 9, 2017 – Palm Sunday
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 – National 8-Track Tape Day
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 – National Pet Day
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 – National Submarine Day
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 – National Barber Shop Quartet Day
Tuesday, April 11, 2017 – National Cheese Fondue Day
Friday, April 14, 2017 – Good Friday
Saturday, April 15, 2017 – Record Store Day
Sunday, April 16, 2017 – Easter Sunday
Monday, April 17, 2017 – Easter Monday
Monday, April 17, 2017 – Emancipation Day (Washington, DC)
Tuesday, April 18, 2017 – Tax Day (NOT April 15 due to DC holiday above)
Saturday, April 22, 2017 – Earth Day
Wednesday, April 26, 2017 – Administrative Professionals’ Day aka Secretaries’ Day
Tuesday, May 2, 2017 – National Teacher Appreciation Day
Thursday, May 4, 2017 – Star Wars Day (May the 4th Be With You!)
Friday, May 5, 2017 – Cinco de Mayo (big day for Mexican restaurant deals!)
Saturday, May 6, 2017 – Free Comic Book Day
Sunday, May 14, 2017 – Mother’s Day
Saturday, May 20, 2017 – Armed Forces Day
Monday, May 22, 2017 – Victoria Day (Canada except Quebec)
Monday, May 22, 2017 – National Patriots’ Day (Canada: Quebec)
Monday, May 29, 2017 – Memorial Day
Friday, June 2, 2017 – National Doughnut Day
Sunday, June 4, 2017 – Pentecost Sunday
Monday, June 5, 2017 – Pentecost Monday
Sunday, June 11, 2017 – King Kamehameha Day (Hawaii)
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 – Flag Day
Sunday, June 18, 2017 – Father’s Day
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 – National Aboriginal Day (Canada: Northwest Territories)
Saturday, June 24, 2017 – St. Jean Baptiste Day (Canada: Quebec)
Monday, June 26, 2017 – Discovery Day (Newfoundland and Labrador)
Saturday, July 1, 2017 – Canada Day (Canada)
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 – Independence Day aka “The Fourth of July”
Sunday, July 9, 2017 – Nunavut Day (Canada: Nunavut)
Friday, July 14, 2017 – Bastille Day
Sunday, July 23, 2017 – National Hot Dog Day
Sunday, July 23, 2017 – Parents’ Day
Monday, July 24, 2017 – Pioneer Day (Utah)
Saturday, July 29, 2017 – National Chicken Wing Day
Sunday, July 30, 2017 – National Cheesecake Day
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Civic Holiday (Canada: Manitoba, Nunavut, Ontario)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Heritage Day (Canada: Alberta)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Natal Day (Canada: Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – New Brunswick Day (Canada: New Brunswick)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Saskatchewan Day (Canada: Saskatchewan)

Saturday, August 12, 2017 – National Vinyl Record Day
Sunday, August 20, 2017 – National Radio Day
Monday, August 21, 2017 – Discovery Day (Canada: Yukon)
Saturday, August 26, 2017 – National Dog Day
Monday, September 4, 2017 – Labor Day
Monday, September 4, 2017 – Labour Day (Canada)
Sunday, September 10, 2017 – Grandparents’ Day
Monday, September 11, 2017 – Patriot Day (9/11)
Saturday, September 17, 2017 – Stepfamily Day
Monday, September 18, 2017 – Citizenship Day aka Constitution Day
Monday, September 18, 2017 – National Cheeseburger Day
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 – Talk Like a Pirate Day
Friday, September 22, 2017 – Native Americans’ Day (California)
Friday, September 29, 2017 – National Coffee Day
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 – National Taco Day
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 – National CB Radio Day (thank you, Jimmy Carter!)
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Columbus Day
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Native Americans’ Day (South Dakota)
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Thanksgiving Day (Canada)
Saturday, October 21, 2017 – Sweetest Day
Monday, October 16, 2017 – Boss’s Day
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 – National Pasta Day
Friday, October 27, 2017 – Nevada Day
Sunday, October 29, 2017 – National Cat Day
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 – Halloween
Friday, November 3, 2017 – National Sandwich Day
Sunday, November 5, 2017 – Daylight Saving Time Ends
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 – Election Day
Saturday, November 11, 2017 – Veterans’ Day
Saturday, November 11, 2017 – Remembrance Day (Canada)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 – Thanksgiving Day (United States)
Friday, November 24, 2017 – Black Friday
Monday, November 27, 2017 – Cyber Monday
Thursday, December 7, 2017 – Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 – Hanukkah begins at sunset
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 – Hanukkah ends at nightfall
Saturday, December 23, 2017 – Festivus. Is Festivus for the rest of us a real holiday? You decide!
Sunday, December 24, 2017 – Christmas Eve
Monday, December 25, 2017 – Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 – Kwanzaa begins
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 – Boxing Day (Canada)
Sunday, December 31, 2017 – New Year’s Eve
Monday, January 1, 2018 – New Year’s Day
Monday, January 1, 2018 – Kwanzaa ends
Monday, January 15, 2018 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, February 2, 2018 – Groundhog Day
Sunday, February 4, 2018 – Super Bowl Sunday
Monday, February 12, 2018 – Abe Lincoln’s Birthday
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 – Mardi Gras Fat Tuesday (New Orleans & Gulf Coast)
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – Valentine’s Day
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Presidents Day & George Washington’s Birthday
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Family Day (Canada: Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Islander Day (Canada: Prince Edward Island)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Louis Riel Day (Canada: Manitoba)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Nova Scotia Heritage Day (Canada: Nova Scotia)
Thursday, February 22, 2018 – National Margarita Day
Sunday, March 11, 2018 – Daylight Saving Time Begins
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 – Pi Day
Saturday, March 17, 2018 – St. Patrick’s Day

Check around for special sales and promotional events in your area which are held on these holidays. Also, be aware of early/late opening and closing times for stores, restaurants, and shopping malls on specific holidays. Any holiday is an excuse for a sale, often with extended holiday hours of operation. As always, call ahead to confirm open/closed status and hours before heading out.

Leave a Reply