Open or Closed on Memorial Day Monday May 29

For 2017, Memorial Day happens on Monday, May 29th. Most stores, restaurants, shopping centers, and malls are open on Memorial Day. However, they may be operating on holiday schedule with limited or reduced hours of operation. Some businesses are closed on Memorial Day in order to give their employees the day off. Here’s a quick rundown of what is open and what is closed on May 29, 2017:

BANKS are CLOSED on Memorial Day.

BARS & CLUBS are OPEN on Memorial Day.

BIG BOX STORES are OPEN on Memorial Day.

CASUAL RESTAURANTS are OPEN on Memorial Day. Several restaurants serve free or discounted meals to veterans and active military service members.

CONVENIENCE STORES are OPEN on Memorial Day.

FAST FOOD RESTAURANTS are OPEN on Memorial Day.

GROCERY STORES are OPEN on Memorial Day.

GOVERNMENT OFFICES are CLOSED on Memorial Day. Nearly all federal, state, county, and city agencies are closed on Memorial Day.

LIQUOR STORES may be OPEN or CLOSED on Memorial Day. This depends on which state and/or city you are located in. Some areas allow alcoholic beverages to be sold on Memorial Day while others prohibit sales.

MOVIE THEATERS are OPEN on Memorial Day. Many theatres have additional holiday show times scheduled for Memorial Day.

PHARMACIES & DRUG STORES are OPEN on Memorial Day. However, the actual pharmacy may be closed or operating reduced hours.

POST OFFICE (USPS) is CLOSED on Memorial Day.

SHOPPING MALLS AND MALL ANCHOR STORES are OPEN on Memorial Day.

SCHOOLS are CLOSED on Memorial Day: grade schools, middle schools, high schools, colleges, universities, etc.

For information on specific stores, restaurants, and malls, just search our list! It’s always smart to call and confirm holiday hours before leaving home. Plan ahead, be safe, and have a great Memorial Day 2017!

Complete List of U.S. & Canada Holidays

If you’re looking for special holiday sales and deals, you need to know about all the holidays! Everyone knows when Christmas Day and Easter Sunday occur, but what about Earth Day or Stepfamily Day? Given today’s “challenging” economy, stores, restaurants, and shopping malls will use any holiday they can find to hold special sales, promotions, and events. This includes the minor, lesser-known holidays. Here’s a complete list of 2017-2018 holidays which are celebrated in the United States and Canada:

Monday, May 29, 2017 – Memorial Day
Friday, June 2, 2017 – National Doughnut Day
Sunday, June 4, 2017 – Pentecost Sunday
Monday, June 5, 2017 – Pentecost Monday
Sunday, June 11, 2017 – King Kamehameha Day (Hawaii)
Wednesday, June 14, 2017 – Flag Day
Sunday, June 18, 2017 – Father’s Day
Wednesday, June 21, 2017 – National Aboriginal Day (Canada: Northwest Territories)
Saturday, June 24, 2017 – St. Jean Baptiste Day (Canada: Quebec)
Monday, June 26, 2017 – Discovery Day (Newfoundland and Labrador)
Saturday, July 1, 2017 – Canada Day (Canada)
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 – Independence Day aka “The Fourth of July”
Sunday, July 9, 2017 – Nunavut Day (Canada: Nunavut)
Friday, July 14, 2017 – Bastille Day
Sunday, July 23, 2017 – National Hot Dog Day
Sunday, July 23, 2017 – Parents’ Day
Monday, July 24, 2017 – Pioneer Day (Utah)
Saturday, July 29, 2017 – National Chicken Wing Day
Sunday, July 30, 2017 – National Cheesecake Day
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Civic Holiday (Canada: Manitoba, Nunavut, Ontario)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Heritage Day (Canada: Alberta)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Natal Day (Canada: Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – New Brunswick Day (Canada: New Brunswick)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Saskatchewan Day (Canada: Saskatchewan)
Saturday, August 12, 2017 – National Vinyl Record Day
Sunday, August 20, 2017 – National Radio Day
Monday, August 21, 2017 – Discovery Day (Canada: Yukon)
Saturday, August 26, 2017 – National Dog Day
Monday, September 4, 2017 – Labor Day
Monday, September 4, 2017 – Labour Day (Canada)
Sunday, September 10, 2017 – Grandparents’ Day
Monday, September 11, 2017 – Patriot Day (9/11)
Saturday, September 17, 2017 – Stepfamily Day
Monday, September 18, 2017 – Citizenship Day aka Constitution Day
Monday, September 18, 2017 – National Cheeseburger Day
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 – Talk Like a Pirate Day
Friday, September 22, 2017 – Native Americans’ Day (California)
Friday, September 29, 2017 – National Coffee Day
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 – National Taco Day
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 – National CB Radio Day (thank you, Jimmy Carter!)
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Columbus Day
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Native Americans’ Day (South Dakota)
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Thanksgiving Day (Canada)
Saturday, October 21, 2017 – Sweetest Day
Monday, October 16, 2017 – Boss’s Day
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 – National Pasta Day
Friday, October 27, 2017 – Nevada Day
Sunday, October 29, 2017 – National Cat Day
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 – Halloween
Friday, November 3, 2017 – National Sandwich Day
Sunday, November 5, 2017 – Daylight Saving Time Ends
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 – Election Day
Saturday, November 11, 2017 – Veterans’ Day
Saturday, November 11, 2017 – Remembrance Day (Canada)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 – Thanksgiving Day (United States)
Friday, November 24, 2017 – Black Friday
Monday, November 27, 2017 – Cyber Monday

Thursday, December 7, 2017 – Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 – Hanukkah begins at sunset
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 – Hanukkah ends at nightfall
Saturday, December 23, 2017 – Festivus. Is Festivus for the rest of us a real holiday? You decide!
Sunday, December 24, 2017 – Christmas Eve
Monday, December 25, 2017 – Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 – Kwanzaa begins
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 – Boxing Day (Canada)
Sunday, December 31, 2017 – New Year’s Eve
Monday, January 1, 2018 – New Year’s Day
Monday, January 1, 2018 – Kwanzaa ends
Monday, January 15, 2018 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, February 2, 2018 – Groundhog Day
Sunday, February 4, 2018 – Super Bowl Sunday
Monday, February 12, 2018 – Abe Lincoln’s Birthday
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 – Mardi Gras Fat Tuesday (New Orleans & Gulf Coast)
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – Valentine’s Day
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Presidents Day & George Washington’s Birthday
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Family Day (Canada: Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Islander Day (Canada: Prince Edward Island)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Louis Riel Day (Canada: Manitoba)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Nova Scotia Heritage Day (Canada: Nova Scotia)
Thursday, February 22, 2018 – National Margarita Day
Sunday, March 11, 2018 – Daylight Saving Time Begins
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 – Pi Day
Saturday, March 17, 2018 – St. Patrick’s Day
Friday, March 23, 2018 – National Puppy Day
Sunday, March 25, 2018 – Palm Sunday
Monday, March 26, 2018 – Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day (Hawaii)
Friday, March 30, 2018 – National Doctors’ Day
Friday, March 30, 2018 – Good Friday
Sunday, April 1, 2018 – April Fools’ Day
Sunday, April 1, 2018 – Easter Sunday
Monday, April 2, 2018 – Easter Monday
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 – National Siblings Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National 8-Track Tape Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Pet Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Submarine Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Barber Shop Quartet Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Cheese Fondue Day
Monday, April 16, 2018 – Emancipation Day (Washington, DC)
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 – Tax Day (NOT April 15 this year)
Saturday, April 21, 2018 – Record Store Day
Sunday, April 22, 2018 – Earth Day
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 – Administrative Professionals’ Day aka Secretaries’ Day
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 – May Day
Friday, May 4, 2018 – Star Wars Day (May the 4th Be With You!)
Saturday, May 5, 2018 – Cinco de Mayo (big day for Mexican restaurant deals!)
Saturday, May 5, 2018 – Free Comic Book Day
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 – National Teacher Appreciation Day
Sunday, May 13, 2018 – Mother’s Day
Saturday, May 19, 2018 – Armed Forces Day
Monday, May 21, 2018 – Victoria Day (Canada except Quebec)
Monday, May 21, 2018 – National Patriots’ Day (Canada: Quebec)

Check around for special sales and promotional events in your area which are held on these holidays. Also, be aware of early/late opening and closing times for stores, restaurants, and shopping malls on specific holidays. Any holiday is an excuse for a sale, often with extended holiday hours of operation. As always, call ahead to confirm open/closed status and hours before heading out.

Sales Tax Holidays & Tax Free Weekend Dates

UPDATE MAY 1, 2017: This year’s sales tax holidays have yet to be finalized. Various state legislatures are still in session, determining if and when a tax free weekend will be held in their state. We will update as information becomes available.

When we talk about holidays here on HolidayShoppingHours.com, it’s usually in reference to holiday hours at your favorite stores and restaurants. But there’s a different sort of “holiday” coming up that you’ll want to be aware of.

In late July and throughout August, many states hold back to school sales tax holidays or tax free weekends. During specific dates, certain items are allowed to be sold without sales tax being collected. Typically, the eligible items include clothes, shoes, and school supplies. Some states also allow computers and computer accessories as tax-free items. There are other dates throughout the year when various items may be sold tax-free or at a reduced sales tax rate.

Here are the 2017 dates for sales tax holidays and tax free weekends:

Saturday, April 22: Texas (generators, storm devices, emergency preparedness items)
Sunday, April 23: Texas (generators, storm devices, emergency preparedness items)
Monday, April 24: Texas (generators, storm devices, emergency preparedness items)

Friday, July 28: Mississippi, Tennessee
Saturday, July 29: Mississippi, Tennessee
Sunday, July 30: Tennessee

Friday, August 4: Alabama, Iowa, Louisiana (2% rate reduction only), Missouri, New Mexico, South Carolina, Virginia
Saturday, August 5: Alabama, Arkansas, Iowa, Louisiana (2% rate reduction only), Missouri, New Mexico, South Carolina, Virginia
Sunday, August 6: Alabama, Arkansas, Missouri, New Mexico, South Carolina, Virginia

Friday, August 11: Texas
Saturday, August 11: Texas
Sunday, August 13: Maryland, Texas
Monday, August 14: Maryland
Tuesday, August 15: Maryland
Wednesday, August 16: Maryland
Thursday, August 17: Maryland
Friday, August 18: Maryland
Saturday, August 19: Maryland

Sunday, August 20: Connecticut
Monday, August 21: Connecticut
Tuesday, August 22: Connecticut
Wednesday, August 23: Connecticut
Thursday, August 24: Connecticut
Friday, August 25: Connecticut, Mississippi Second Amendment (hunting supplies)
Saturday, August 26: Connecticut, Mississippi Second Amendment (hunting supplies)
Sunday, August 27: Mississippi Second Amendment (hunting supplies)

Friday, September 1: Louisiana Second Amendment (hunting supplies)
Saturday, September 2: Louisiana Second Amendment(hunting supplies)
Sunday, September 3: Louisiana Second Amendment(hunting supplies)

These states have not yet announced a 2017 sales tax holiday or tax free weekend:

Alaska (no state sales tax), Arizona, California, Colorado, Delaware (no state sales tax), Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana (no state sales tax), Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire (no state sales tax), New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon (no state sales tax), Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming