Complete List of U.S. & Canada Holidays

If you’re looking for special holiday sales and deals, you need to know about all the holidays! Everyone knows when Christmas Day and Easter Sunday occur, but what about Earth Day or Stepfamily Day? Given today’s “challenging” economy, stores, restaurants, and shopping malls will use any holiday they can find to hold special sales, promotions, and events. This includes the minor, lesser-known holidays. Here’s a complete list of 2017-2018 holidays which are celebrated in the United States and Canada:

Monday, June 26, 2017 – Discovery Day (Newfoundland and Labrador)
Saturday, July 1, 2017 – Canada Day (Memorial Day in Newfoundland and Labrador)
Tuesday, July 4, 2017 – Independence Day aka “The Fourth of July”
Sunday, July 9, 2017 – Nunavut Day (Canada: Nunavut)
Friday, July 14, 2017 – Bastille Day
Sunday, July 23, 2017 – National Hot Dog Day
Sunday, July 23, 2017 – Parents’ Day
Monday, July 24, 2017 – Pioneer Day (Utah)
Saturday, July 29, 2017 – National Chicken Wing Day
Sunday, July 30, 2017 – National Cheesecake Day
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Civic Holiday (Canada: Manitoba, Nunavut, Ontario)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Heritage Day (Canada: Alberta)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Natal Day (Canada: Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – New Brunswick Day (Canada: New Brunswick)
Monday, August 7, 2017 – Saskatchewan Day (Canada: Saskatchewan)
Saturday, August 12, 2017 – National Vinyl Record Day
Sunday, August 20, 2017 – National Radio Day
Monday, August 21, 2017 – Discovery Day (Canada: Yukon)
Saturday, August 26, 2017 – National Dog Day
Monday, September 4, 2017 – Labor Day
Monday, September 4, 2017 – Labour Day (Canada)
Sunday, September 10, 2017 – Grandparents’ Day
Monday, September 11, 2017 – Patriot Day (9/11)
Saturday, September 17, 2017 – Stepfamily Day
Monday, September 18, 2017 – Citizenship Day aka Constitution Day
Monday, September 18, 2017 – National Cheeseburger Day
Tuesday, September 19, 2017 – Talk Like a Pirate Day
Friday, September 22, 2017 – Native Americans’ Day (California)
Friday, September 29, 2017 – National Coffee Day
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 – National Taco Day
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 – National CB Radio Day (thank you, Jimmy Carter!)
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Columbus Day
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Native Americans’ Day (South Dakota)
Monday, October 9, 2017 – Thanksgiving Day (Canada)
Saturday, October 21, 2017 – Sweetest Day
Monday, October 16, 2017 – Boss’s Day
Tuesday, October 17, 2017 – National Pasta Day
Friday, October 27, 2017 – Nevada Day
Sunday, October 29, 2017 – National Cat Day
Tuesday, October 31, 2017 – Halloween
Friday, November 3, 2017 – National Sandwich Day
Sunday, November 5, 2017 – Daylight Saving Time Ends
Tuesday, November 7, 2017 – Election Day
Saturday, November 11, 2017 – Veterans’ Day
Saturday, November 11, 2017 – Remembrance Day (Canada)
Thursday, November 23, 2017 – Thanksgiving Day (United States)
Friday, November 24, 2017 – Black Friday
Monday, November 27, 2017 – Cyber Monday
Thursday, December 7, 2017 – Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day
Tuesday, December 12, 2017 – Hanukkah begins at sunset
Wednesday, December 20, 2017 – Hanukkah ends at nightfall
Saturday, December 23, 2017 – Festivus. Is Festivus for the rest of us a real holiday? You decide!
Sunday, December 24, 2017 – Christmas Eve
Monday, December 25, 2017 – Christmas Day
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 – Kwanzaa begins
Tuesday, December 26, 2017 – Boxing Day (Canada)
Sunday, December 31, 2017 – New Year’s Eve
Monday, January 1, 2018 – New Year’s Day
Monday, January 1, 2018 – Kwanzaa ends
Monday, January 15, 2018 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
Friday, February 2, 2018 – Groundhog Day
Sunday, February 4, 2018 – Super Bowl Sunday

Monday, February 12, 2018 – Abe Lincoln’s Birthday
Tuesday, February 13, 2018 – Mardi Gras Fat Tuesday (New Orleans & Gulf Coast)
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – Ash Wednesday
Wednesday, February 14, 2018 – Valentine’s Day
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Presidents Day & George Washington’s Birthday
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Family Day (Canada: Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Islander Day (Canada: Prince Edward Island)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Louis Riel Day (Canada: Manitoba)
Monday, February 19, 2018 – Nova Scotia Heritage Day (Canada: Nova Scotia)
Thursday, February 22, 2018 – National Margarita Day
Sunday, March 11, 2018 – Daylight Saving Time Begins
Wednesday, March 14, 2018 – Pi Day
Saturday, March 17, 2018 – St. Patrick’s Day
Friday, March 23, 2018 – National Puppy Day
Sunday, March 25, 2018 – Palm Sunday
Monday, March 26, 2018 – Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day (Hawaii)
Friday, March 30, 2018 – National Doctors’ Day
Friday, March 30, 2018 – Good Friday
Sunday, April 1, 2018 – April Fools’ Day
Sunday, April 1, 2018 – Easter Sunday
Monday, April 2, 2018 – Easter Monday
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 – National Siblings Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National 8-Track Tape Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Pet Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Submarine Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Barber Shop Quartet Day
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 – National Cheese Fondue Day
Monday, April 16, 2018 – Emancipation Day (Washington, DC)
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 – Tax Day (NOT April 15 this year)
Saturday, April 21, 2018 – Record Store Day
Sunday, April 22, 2018 – Earth Day
Wednesday, April 25, 2018 – Administrative Professionals’ Day aka Secretaries’ Day
Tuesday, May 1, 2018 – May Day
Friday, May 4, 2018 – Star Wars Day (May the 4th Be With You!)
Saturday, May 5, 2018 – Cinco de Mayo (big day for Mexican restaurant deals!)
Saturday, May 5, 2018 – Free Comic Book Day
Tuesday, May 8, 2018 – National Teacher Appreciation Day
Sunday, May 13, 2018 – Mother’s Day
Saturday, May 19, 2018 – Armed Forces Day
Sunday, May 20, 2018 – Pentecost Sunday
Monday, May 21, 2018 – Pentecost Monday
Monday, May 21, 2018 – Victoria Day (Canada except Quebec)
Monday, May 21, 2018 – National Patriots’ Day (Canada: Quebec)
Monday, May 28, 2018 – Memorial Day
Friday, June 1, 2018 – National Doughnut Day
Monday, June 4, 2018 – National Cheese Day
Monday, June 11, 2018 – King Kamehameha Day (Hawaii)
Thursday, June 14, 2018 – Flag Day
Sunday, June 17, 2018 – Father’s Day
Thursday, June 21, 2018 – First Day of Summer
Thursday, June 21, 2018 – National Aboriginal Day (Canada: Northwest Territories)
Sunday, June 24, 2018 – St. Jean Baptiste Day (Canada: Quebec)

Check around for special sales and promotional events in your area which are held on these holidays. Also, be aware of early/late opening and closing times for stores, restaurants, and shopping malls on specific holidays. Any holiday is an excuse for a sale, often with extended holiday hours of operation. As always, call ahead to confirm open/closed status and hours before heading out.

Open or Closed on Father’s Day Sunday June 18

For 2017, Father’s Day is on Sunday, June 18. Many stores have special Father’s Day sales and deals on this day. Shopping malls feature Father’s Day promotions with lots of great gift ideas for Dad. At most restaurants, Father’s Day is one of the busiest days of the year! Be sure to check the fine print on your coupons and bonus gift cards carefully, as many will not be valid on Father’s Day. Free items for Dad, special lunch or dinner menus, and merchandise discounts can all be found on June 18th. Often, these promotions extend the entire weekend or for several days preceding the holiday. This is a great time to take Dad golfing or bowling at his favorite hangouts. Afterwards, why not treat him to a great lunch or dinner at his favorite restaurant? He’ll appreciate the thought and it need not cost a lot of money.

Father’s Day shopping hours are usually the same as they would be on any other Sunday. As for restaurants, many open early to serve Father’s Day Brunch or special breakfast. Be sure to call your favorite retailers and eateries for their specific Father’s Day hours as well as information on specific deals and sales. If you’re planning to take Dad out to celebrate, expect restaurants to be crowded. Long waiting times will be found at the most popular eateries. Reservations are strongly suggested and required in some cases. Don’t disappoint Dad on his special day! Call ahead to reserve a table before heading to the restaurant. We will be posting Father’s Day Brunch serving times for various restaurants as the information becomes available to us.

Be sure to do something nice for your dad and show her how much you appreciate all he has done for the family. Father’s Day only comes once per year. For 2017, it happens on Sunday, June 18.

Flag Day Sales & Store Hours Wednesday June 14

“Flag Day Sales?” I was skeptical also. But Google lists no fewer than 20.1 MILLION matches for that search term! Flag Day happens on June 14 each year. Because you frequent this website, you know that ANY holiday is a great excuse for retailers and eateries to offer special deals and discounts. Many stores, restaurants, and shopping malls hold Flag Day sales and promotions on June 14. Flag Day is an especially popular sales event for stores which deal in Americana antiques and collectibles. There is a “fine line” here, however. For some businesses, advertising a Flag Day sale would appear tacky and tasteless to their customers. This is why you don’t see many Flag Day car sales.

Another bonus: U.S. and state flags are exempt from sales tax in 14 states: California, Connecticut, Florida, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. Some of these states grant a conditional exemption only if the flag is sold by a veterans organization, nonprofit organization, or government agency. These exemptions are granted 365 days per year. You don’t have to buy your flag on Flag Day in order to get it tax-free.

Hours of operation at most stores and shopping malls are the same for Flag Day as they would be on a normal weekday. So, you have plenty of time to get out and search for sales. Flag Day only comes once per year and there are some great deals to be found. For 2017, it happens on Wednesday, June 14.