Complete List of U.S. & Canada Holidays

November 29, 2020

If you’re looking for special holiday sales and deals, you need to know about all the holidays! Everyone knows when Thanksgiving Day and Labor Day occur, but what about National Candy Corn Day or Election Day? Stores, restaurants, and shopping malls use any holiday to hold special sales, promotions, and events. This includes the minor, lesser-known holidays. Here’s our complete list of 2020-2021 holidays which are celebrated in the United States and Canada:

Monday, November 30, 2020 – Cyber Monday
Monday, December 7, 2020 – Pearl Harbor Remembrance Day
Tuesday, December 8, 2020 – National Brownie Day
Thursday, December 10, 2020 – Hanukkah begins at sunset
Friday, December 18, 2020 – Hanukkah ends at nightfall
Wednesday, December 23, 2020 – Festivus. Is Festivus for the rest of us a real holiday? You decide!
Thursday, December 24, 2020 – Christmas Eve
Friday, December 25, 2020 – Christmas Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 – Boxing Day
Saturday, December 26, 2020 – Kwanzaa begins
Thursday, December 31, 2020 – New Year’s Eve
Friday, January 1, 2021 – New Year’s Day
Friday, January 1, 2021 – Kwanzaa ends
Monday, January 4, 2021 – National Spaghetti Day
Saturday, January 9, 2021 – National Law Enforcement Appreciation Day
Thursday, January 14, 2021 – National Hot Pastrami Sandwich Day
Friday, January 15, 2021 – National Strawberry Ice Cream Day
Monday, January 18, 2021 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day aka MLK Day
Wednesday, January 20, 2021 – National Disc Jockey Day
Wednesday, January 20, 2021 – National Cheese Lover’s Day
Saturday, January 23, 2021 – National Pie Day
Tuesday, February 2, 2021 – Groundhog Day
Saturday, February 6, 2021 – National Frozen Yogurt Day
Sunday, February 7, 2021 – Super Bowl Sunday
Sunday, February 7, 2021 – National Fettuccine Alfredo Day
Tuesday, February 9, 2021 – National Pizza Pie Day
Friday, February 12, 2021 – Abe Lincoln’s Birthday
Sunday, February 14, 2021 – Valentine’s Day
Monday, February 15, 2021 – Presidents Day & George Washington’s Birthday
Monday, February 15, 2021 – Family Day (Canada: Alberta, Ontario, Saskatchewan)
Monday, February 15, 2021 – Islander Day (Canada: Prince Edward Island)
Monday, February 15, 2021 – Louis Riel Day (Canada: Manitoba)
Monday, February 15, 2021 – Nova Scotia Heritage Day (Canada: Nova Scotia)
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 – Mardi Gras Fat Tuesday (New Orleans & Gulf Coast)
Wednesday, February 17, 2021 – Ash Wednesday
Monday, February 22, 2021 – National Margarita Day
Wednesday, February 24, 2021 – National Tortilla Chip Day
Thursday, February 25, 2021 – National Chili Day
Tuesday, March 9, 2021 – National Meatball Day
Tuesday, March 9, 2021 – National Crab Meat Day
Sunday, March 14, 2021 – Pi Day (3/14, get it?)
Sunday, March 14, 2021 – Daylight Saving Time Begins
Monday, March 15, 2021 – National Napping Day
Wednesday, March 17, 2021 – St. Patrick’s Day
Saturday, March 20, 2021 – First Day of Spring
Saturday, March 20, 2021 – National Ravioli Day
Saturday, March 20, 2021 – National Corn Dog Day
Tuesday, March 23, 2021 – National Puppy Day
Tuesday, March 23, 2021 – National Chip and Dip Day
Wednesday, March 24, 2021 – National Cheesesteak Day
Friday, March 26, 2021 – Prince Jonah Kuhio Kalanianaole Day (Hawaii)
Sunday, March 28, 2021 – Palm Sunday
Tuesday, March 30, 2021 – National Doctors’ Day
Thursday, April 1, 2021 – April Fools’ Day
Thursday, April 1, 2021 – National Burrito Day
Friday, April 2, 2021 – Good Friday
Sunday, April 4, 2021 – Easter Sunday
Monday, April 5, 2021 – Easter Monday
Wednesday, April 7, 2021 – National Beer Day
Saturday, April 10, 2021 – National Siblings Day
Sunday, April 11, 2021 – National 8-Track Tape Day
Sunday, April 11, 2021 – National Pet Day
Sunday, April 11, 2021 – National Submarine Day
Sunday, April 11, 2021 – National Barber Shop Quartet Day
Sunday, April 11, 2021 – National Cheese Fondue Day
Thursday, April 15, 2021 – Tax Day (federal and most state tax returns due)
Friday, April 16, 2021 – Emancipation Day (Washington, DC)
Saturday, April 17, 2021 – Record Store Day
Monday, April 19, 2021 – National Garlic Day
Wednesday, April 21, 2021 – Administrative Professionals’ Day aka Secretaries’ Day
Thursday, April 22, 2021 – Earth Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 – May Day
Saturday, May 1, 2021 – Free Comic Book Day
Tuesday, May 4, 2021 – Star Wars Day (May the 4th Be With You!)
Tuesday, May 4, 2021 – National Teacher Appreciation Day
Wednesday, May 5, 2021 – Cinco de Mayo (big day for Mexican restaurant deals!)
Sunday, May 9, 2021 – Mother’s Day
Monday, May 10, 2021 – National Shrimp Day
Saturday, May 15, 2021 – Armed Forces Day
Saturday, May 15, 2021 – National Chocolate Chip Day
Sunday, May 23, 2021 – Pentecost Sunday
Monday, May 24, 2021 – Pentecost Monday
Monday, May 24, 2021 – Victoria Day (Canada except Quebec)
Monday, May 24, 2021 – National Patriots’ Day (Canada: Quebec)
Friday, May 28, 2021 – National Hamburger Day
Monday, May 31, 2021 – Memorial Day

Wednesday, June 2, 2021 – National Rotisserie Chicken Day
Friday, June 4, 2021 – National Cheese Day
Friday, June 4, 2021 – National Doughnut Day
Friday, June 11, 2021 – King Kamehameha Day (Hawaii)
Monday, June 14, 2021 – Flag Day
Saturday, June 19, 2021 – Juneteenth
Saturday, June 19, 2021 – National Martini Day
Sunday, June 20, 2021 – Father’s Day
Sunday, June 20, 2021 – First Day of Summer
Monday, June 21, 2021 – National Aboriginal Day (Canada: Northwest Territories)
Thursday, June 24, 2021 – St. Jean Baptiste Day (Canada: Quebec)
Thursday, June 24, 2021 – Discovery Day (Canada: Newfoundland and Labrador)
Thursday, July 1, 2021 – Canada Day (Memorial Day in Newfoundland and Labrador)
Sunday, July 4, 2021 – Independence Day a/k/a “The Fourth of July”
Friday, July 9, 2021 – Nunavut Day (Canada: Nunavut)
Sunday, July 11, 2021 – 7-Eleven Free Slurpee Day
Tuesday, July 13, 2021 – National French Fry Day
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 – Bastille Day
Wednesday, July 14, 2021 – National Mac & Cheese Day
Saturday, July 17, 2021 – National Tattoo Day
Sunday, July 18, 2021 – National Ice Cream Day
Thursday, July 22, 2021 – National Hot Dog Day
Saturday, July 24, 2021 – National Tequila Day
Saturday, July 24, 2021 – Pioneer Day (Utah)
Sunday, July 25, 2021 – Parents’ Day
Tuesday, July 27, 2021 – National Chicken Finger Day
Thursday, July 29, 2021 – National Chicken Wing Day
Thursday, July 29, 2021 – National Lasagna Day
Thursday, July 29, 2021 – National Lipstick Day
Friday, July 30, 2021 – National Cheesecake Day
Saturday, July 31, 2021 – National Avocado Day
Sunday, August 1, 2021 – National Friendship Day
Sunday, August 1, 2021 – Taste of Dorset, MN aka “The Restaurant Capital of the World”
Monday, August 2, 2021 – National Ice Cream Sandwich Day
Monday, August 2, 2021 – Civic Holiday (Canada: Manitoba, Nunavut, Ontario)
Monday, August 2, 2021 – Heritage Day (Canada: Alberta)
Monday, August 2, 2021 – Natal Day (Canada: Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island)
Monday, August 2, 2021 – New Brunswick Day (Canada: New Brunswick)
Monday, August 2, 2021 – Saskatchewan Day (Canada: Saskatchewan)
Tuesday, August 3, 2021 – National Watermelon Day
Wednesday, August 4, 2021 – National Chocolate Chip Cookie Day
Friday, August 6, 2021 – National Root Beer Float Day
Sunday, August 8, 2021 – International Cat Day
Sunday, August 8, 2021 – National Zucchini Day
Thursday, August 12, 2021 – National Vinyl Record Day
Monday, August 16, 2021 – Discovery Day (Canada: Yukon)
Tuesday, August 17, 2021 – Black Cat Appreciation Day
Wednesday, August 18, 2021 – National Fajita Day
Friday, August 20, 2021 – National Radio Day
Friday, August 20, 2021 – National Lemonade Day
Tuesday, August 24, 2021 – National Waffle Day
Wednesday, August 25, 2021 – National Banana Split Day
Thursday, August 26, 2021 – National Dog Day
Saturday, August 28, 2021 – Rainbow Bridge Remembrance Day
Saturday, September 4, 2021 – International Bacon Day
Sunday, September 5, 2021 – National Cheese Pizza Day
Monday, September 6, 2021 – Labor Day
Monday, September 6, 2021 – Labour Day (Canada)
Saturday, September 11, 2021 – Patriot Day (9/11)
Sunday, September 12, 2021 – Grandparents’ Day
Thursday, September 16, 2021 – Mexican Independence Day (big day for Mexican restaurant deals!)
Thursday, September 16, 2021 – Stepfamily Day
Thursday, September 16, 2021 – National Guacamole Day
Friday, September 17, 2021 – Halfway to St. Patrick’s Day
Friday, September 17, 2021 – Citizenship Day aka Constitution Day
Saturday, September 18, 2021 – National Cheeseburger Day
Sunday, September 19, 2021 – Talk Like a Pirate Day
Monday, September 20, 2021 – National Pepperoni Pizza Day (big day for pizza deals!)
Wednesday, September 22, 2021 – National Ice Cream Cone Day
Friday, September 24, 2021 – Native Americans’ Day (California)
Sunday, September 26, 2021 – National Pancake Day
Wednesday, September 29, 2021 – National Coffee Day
Friday, October 1, 2021 – National Black Dog Day
Monday, October 4, 2021 – National Taco Day
Monday, October 4, 2021 – National CB Radio Day (thank you, Jimmy Carter!)
Wednesday, October 6, 2021 – National Noodle Day
Friday, October 8, 2021 – National Salmon Day
Friday, October 8, 2021 – World Egg Day
Monday, October 11, 2021 – Columbus Day
Monday, October 11, 2021 – Native Americans’ Day (South Dakota)
Monday, October 11, 2021 – Thanksgiving Day (Canada)
Tuesday, October 12, 2021 – National Pulled Pork Day
Friday, October 15, 2021 – Tax Day II. If you filed an extension, tax returns are due today!
Saturday, October 16, 2021 – Boss’s Day
Saturday, October 16, 2021 – Sweetest Day
Sunday, October 17, 2021 – National Pasta Day
Friday, October 22, 2021 – National Make A Dog’s Day
Tuesday, October 26, 2021 – National Pumpkin Day
Thursday, October 28, 2021 – National Chocolate Day
Friday, October 29, 2021 – National Cat Day
Friday, October 29, 2021 – Nevada Day
Saturday, October 30, 2021 – National Candy Corn Day
Sunday, October 31, 2021 – Halloween
Sunday, November 7, 2021 – Daylight Saving Time Ends
Tuesday, November 2, 2021 – Election Day
Wednesday, November 3, 2021 – National Sandwich Day
Thursday, November 4, 2021 – National Candy Day
Saturday, November 6, 2021 – National Nachos Day
Thursday, November 11, 2021 – Veterans Day
Thursday, November 11, 2021 – Remembrance Day (Canada)
Thursday, November 11, 2021 – National Sundae Day
Saturday, November 13, 2021 – World Kindness Day
Sunday, November 14, 2021 – National Pickle Day
Tuesday, November 16, 2021 – National Fast Food Day
Thursday, November 25, 2021 – Thanksgiving Day
Friday, November 26, 2021 – Black Friday
Saturday, November 27, 2021 – Small Business Saturday

Check around for special sales and promotional events in your area which are held on these holidays. Also, be aware of early/late opening and closing times for stores, restaurants, and shopping malls on specific holidays. Any holiday is an excuse for a sale, often with extended holiday hours of operation. As always, call ahead to confirm open/closed status and hours before heading out.